Food: Deep-fried everything at the OC Fair

IMG_20140812_130416

Deep-fried Doritos from Chicken Charlie’s at the Orange County Fair. SCREAMfmLondon

This is the kind of person I am: I made a list beforehand of all the deep-fried foods I wanted to try at the Orange County Fair last weekend so I could efficiently and strategically eat as many as possible. And this is what I know to be true: everything in heaven is deep-fried. Below is my rundown of the best foods I snacked on and the ones I’ll have to tackle next time.

Deep-fried cookie dough

I wanted to start the day with a cherry Pop Rocks donut from Texas Donuts, believe me, but I felt that it was unwise to eat that much fried dough and candy so early in the morning. It’s best to start off with a light meal to whet the appetite, I figured, so what could be lighter than Chicken Charlie’s deep-fried cookie dough? Such a good call. For $7.75, I walked away with three balls of moist, gooey chocolate chip cookie dough coated in a crispy deep-fried outer shell, drizzled with chocolate syrup and sprinkled with powdered sugar. Very chocolatey, and it would be cool if there were different cookie dough options (just imagine deep-fried peanut butter cookie dough with chocolate sauce on top!), but this is definitely a valuable way to begin the fair eating experience. All my breakfasts should be so satisfying.

IMG_20140809_120348_786

Deep-fried cookie dough from Chicken Charlie’s at the Orange County Fair. SCREAMfmLondon

Deep-fried Jack Daniel’s-infused, bacon-wrapped churro

Bacon-A-Fair offered up this treat with a side of whipped cream for $6.50, and it was not my thing. But I didn’t expect it to be. I am a vocal opponent of the savory-and-sweet combination in food, and I do not appreciate the trend of adding bacon to dessert. So, maybe I’m a traditionalist. Oh, well. These also weren’t served fresh, but I guess that’s to be expected on the last weekend of the fair. Still, I wouldn’t let this experience deter me. There were so many more deep-fried foodstuffs awaiting my arrival.

Deep-fried Doritos

After enough dessert, I needed something salty. I was ready for Chicken Charlie’s deep-fried Doritos. This was a new, must-try item at the fair this year. For $8.75, the basket of chips was served with a side of Ranch dressing for dipping. The frying process made the chips light and airy (kind of reminiscent of the Baked! Lay’s chips), but they lost a lot of the flavor in the process. I don’t think Ranch was the way to go — these chips should be served with nacho cheese, and then they’d be perfect.

IMG_20140809_150511_698

Deep-fried pineapple from Pineapple Express at the Orange County Fair. SCREAMfmLondon

Deep-fried pineapple

By the time I reached Pineapple Express, I was also two margaritas in, and I wasn’t sure I could eat any more fried food. But I still picked up an order of deep-fried pineapple for $6.75, because I’m no quitter. These fresh, juicy pineapple rings are battered and fried, then covered with chocolate syrup and coconut shavings. These were definitely my favorite OC Fair food item, and, look, I think everyone can agree that this is a very effective way to have a serving of fruit.

Sadly, I will have to wait until the next fair to finish off the rest of the items on my list, including: deep-fried chicken skin, deep-fried cheeseburgers and deep-fried cheesecake on a stick.

Leave a Reply

